The 7 Chakras: Portals to Cosmic Awakening


By Anthony O’Flynn, Wake Up World

The chakras are our energetic blueprint. The knowledge of the chakras is a critical component to genuinely understand the nonphysical energy body. To understand who we truly are, we need to investigate this component of our being that is normally invisible to the naked eye – know thyself.

The word chakra itself means wheel in Sanskrit. This is due to the fact that the chakras are circular in shape. The chakras, however, do not spin. The nadis and the spokes or petals as they are sometimes called are fixed. It is the energy or prana that spins or moves through the chakras. An excellent comparison is the acupuncture points from Chinese medicine. These specific points are fixed yet it is the chi or the life-force that moves through the meridians.

The chakras are much more than just energy centres. The 7 chakras are complex in nature. They are responsible for maintaining physical, emotional, mental and spiritual well-being. In fact, the condition of the aura and the chakras will have a direct correspondence to a person’s health as well as their emotional and psychological state. Although there are seven major chakras, numerous secondary chakras have specific and different functions.

They represent the complete spectrum of human consciousness. These states can fluctuate depending on the various situations we experience and how we integrate our awareness into our experience. They are our interface to the universe and our potential for evolution and inner transformation.

Muladhara Chakra – root support in Sanskrit

This chakra is related with the Earth element and consists of 4 spokes. Muladhara is essentially the battery of the being and is responsible for vitality. Many people who suffer from low energy levels are often disconnected from their inherent source of vitality, the Earth. People who work in big cities, in tall buildings, with air-conditioning are fundamentally deprived of prana, the basic life-force. By connecting with the Earth, even the simple act of walking on the beach (barefoot) will energise this chakra.

As this chakra is the root, it will directly influence the ‘glow’ of the other chakras and the aura in general. It is the foundation and the base level of our energetic being. It is also the home of kundalini shakti, the primordial energy that although dormant in most people, once awakened rises through the energetic column known as sushumna nadi creating transformation and spiritual awakening as it fuses with the crown. This awakening is the union of energy and consciousness, which is the fusion of the feminine and masculine to produce states of samadhi or cosmic consciousness.

Psychologically, the energy of fear and greed is located here. This creates a fight or flight mentality. Muladhara is also responsible for the overall integration on the physical plane.

Read the rest here:


Share your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.